The Collections

Rob Angus arranged his main works into two collections:

1. View From The Zoo & The Park

Subtitled “Poems, Impressions & Sketches, by Robert Angus”. This is a diverse collection of 54 poems.

The title page of the printed collection has the following reflection:

“And through Wall’s chink, poor souls,
they are content to whisper, At the which
let no man wonder…”

Quince splendidly describes the persons
in the play – Moonshine (represented by
dog, bush & lantern) , Wall, two Lovers
& a Lion - but obviously these would fit
better into a zoo than a park.

* Park originally meant ‘paradise’
(a pleasure-ground, an oriental enclosure in
which wild beasts for the chase were kept).

Click here to go to the collection.


2. Another View

Subtitled “Poems:- Impressions & Sketches, by Robert Angus”, this collection consists of a further 41 poems.

Rob quotes from Shakespeare's Tempest on the title page of the original:

“I have great comfort from this fellow: methinks he hath no drowning mark upon him; his complexion is perfect gallows... If he be not born to be hanged, our case is miserable.”

The Tempest, Act 1

Click here to go to the collection.


Downloadable Versions of the Collections

The collections may also be downloaded in their entirety in Adobe Portable Document format (pdf). You probably already have the free Acrobat Reader installed on your computer to read these files, but if not you can load it from here. To download the collection click on these links:

View From The Zoo & The Park (261 kBytes pdf file)

Another View (200kBytes pdf file)